BBS Architects Engineers

Firm History


Proudfoot and Bird Established

William T. Proudfoot and George W. Bird founded Proudfoot & Bird in Des Moines, Iowa after working in Kansas together. 


Crocker Building

Located on the Southwest corner of 5th and Locust the Crocker Building was the first known office of the firm. 


Collegiate Building - Schaeffer Hall

Proudfoot and Bird won the design competition for the University of Iowa's Collegiate Building currently named Schaeffer Hall.

St Paul's Episcopal Church

Harlan, Iowa


Christian Church

Panora, Iowa


Dallas County Courthouse

Firm designs the Dallas County Courthouse, which is completed in 1902.


Lang Hall

University of Northern Iowa


Ames Carnegie Library

Ames, Iowa

Begeman Hall

University of Northern Iowa

Marston Hall

Iowa State University


Iowa Building - Louisiana Purchase Expo

Proudfoot and Bird were the architects who designed the Iowa Building for the Louisiana Purchase Exposition, commonly known as the 1904 St. Louis World's Fair. 


Biology Building

University of Iowa


Beardshear Hall

Iowa State University

Polk County Courthouse

The Polk County courthouse was completed in 1906. The stone masons who constructed the grotesques took some creative liberty to leave their own personal mark in history. 


Macbride Hall

Macbride Hall, the building of Natural Science, at the University of Iowa was completed in 1908.


Curtiss Hall

Iowa State University

Jasper County Courthouse

Newton, Iowa


Proudfoot Bird and Rawson

Harry Rawson joins Proudfoot and Bird to form Proudfoot Bird and Rawson around 1910. They emerge as the foremost Architectural firm in the state through the 1920's.

In 1913 the firm moves into the Hubbell Building which will house the office for over 80 years. Pictured below is the firm in 1913, the Hubbell building, and office plans.


Currier Hall

University of Iowa

Lagomarcino Hall

Iowa State University

Sabin Hall

University of Northern Iowa. Originally called the Training School, Sabin hall was an educational building where young children from the community could go to school while students attending the University could do their "practice teaching" while experienced teachers supervised. In 1957 it was renamed Sabin Hall.

Teachout Building

Des Moines, Iowa


Herring Motor Car Company

The original building located at 110 West 10th street Des Moines, was completed in 1912. Two stories were added on 1 year later. As the company continued to grow Proudfoot Bird and Rawson remained their architect completing yet another building in 1918. 

State Gymnasium

Iowa State University


Fort Dodge City Hall

Fort Dodge, Iowa


Des Moines Register and Tribune Building

Des Moines, IA

Greene County Courthouse

Jefferson, Iowa


Wright Hall

University of Northern Iowa


Hotel Fort Des Moines

Des Moines, Iowa


Equitable Building

Des Moines, IA

Lincoln High School

Construction of Lincoln High School completed.

Roosevelt High School

Roosevelt High School is completed in 1922.


Bartlett Hall

University of Northern Iowa.

Bartlett Hall was constructed in 3 phases. The first phase was completed in 1915, phase two was completed in 1916, and the final phase, pictured below, was completed as an addition in 1924. All phases were designed by BBS (Proudfoot Bird and Rawson at the time).


Parks Library

Iowa State University



University of Northern Iowa

MacKay Hall

Iowa State University

The original name was "Home Economics Building"


Memorial Union

Iowa State University

Firm designed additions were completed in 1938, 1948, 1950, 1957, 1964, and 1972

Power Plant

University of Iowa

Proudfoot Rawson & Souers

The firm is renamed for the partners Proudfoot, Rawson, and Souers.


Kinnick Stadium

University of Iowa


Algona High School

Algona, Iowa


Smouse Opportunity School

The David W Smouse Opportunity school was the only school in Iowa at the time that was designed specifically for students with disabilities. Many special considerations were given to temperature controls, acoustics, and black board angles to meet a various needs of the students. 


Dubuque County Courthouse

Dubuque, Iowa

Iowa Des Moines National Bank (US Bank)

Currently known as US Bank, the Art Deco building was originally designed and built for a high rise above the 4th floor. However due to decreased funds the high rise was never constructed.


Brooks and Borg Join the Firm

John Brooks and Elmer Borg join the partnership, Elmer Borg being the first engineering partner. The firm is renamed Proudfoot Rawson Brooks and Borg.

Burton (Des Moines) Building

Des Moines, IA - Art Deco Style


Des Moines Fire Station

Currently the Social Club and Malo restaurant. Des Moines, Iowa


Firm Reduced to Three Employees

The firm reduced to John Brooks and two others during the period of WWII, 1942-1945.


Firm Renamed

After WWII, the firm is renamed Brooks-Borg after  John Brooks and Elmer Borg.


Des Moines Art Center

Brooks-Borg collaborates with Eliel Saarinen to design the Des Moines Art Center, 1945-1948. 

Harvey Ingham Sciences Hall

Drake Univerity, Des Moines, IA - Collaboration with Saarinen, Swanson, Saarinen

KSO Radio Station

Des Moines, Iowa

From Rock to Country KSO ("Keep Serving Others") broadcasted in Des Moines from 1948 - 1989. Now the building is home to KXNO.


Central Reform Church

Oskaloosa, Iowa. The original building was built in 1950. Since then an addition has been added on by another firm.

Iowa Methodist Medical Center - South Wing

Des Moines, IA - Nine story addition with 109 beds, operating room, kitchen, and pharmacy. 

Iowa Power and Light Company

Des Moines, IA

One of the first buildings to be lit on the exterior!

State Auto Insurance

Des Moines, Iowa


Joe Borg Joins the Firm

Joe Borg, architect and structural engineer, joins the partnership. 


Dormitories - with Eero Saarinen

Drake University, Des Moines, Iowa. Local architect on the job lead by Eero Saarinen.


Central College Student Union

Pella, Iowa


Council Bluffs Courthouse/Post Office

Council Bluffs, IA

Solar Aircraft Manufacturing Facility

Des Moines, IA

Solar Aircraft Manufacturing Facility and three additions built in 1951-1956.


Meredith Publishing Plan

Des Moines, IA


USDA National Veterinary Services Lab

Ames, Iowa


Paul Skiles Joins the Firm

Paul Skiles joins the partnership in 1963. Firm is renamed Brooks Borg and Skiles in 1966.


Neal Smith Federal Building

Des Moines, IA

Firm collaboration with Amos Emery, Savage & Verploeg, Wetherell Harrison & Wagner. Formerly the U.S. Federal Office Building


Preferred Risk Mutual Insurance Co. (GuideOne)

West Des Moines, IA - An addition to the original building was completed in 1979


CY Stephens Auditorium

Iowa State University

BBS partnered with Crites and McConnell Architects on all 4 buildings and elevated walkways in the Iowa State Center Complex (CY Stephens, James H. Hilton Coliseum, Carl H. Sheman Continuing Education building, and J.W Ficsher Theater). BBS was the primary engineering firm on the job. 


EMC Corporate Headquarters

Des Moines, IA

Farm Bureau North Building

West Des Moines, IA


901 Walnut Street

Des Moines, IA


Hilton Coliseum Addition

Iowa State University

BBS partnered with Crites and Mcconnell Architects. 


Williams Residence

Oskaloosa, IA


Pioneer Hi-Bred Office Building

Johnston, IA


Gloria Dei Lutheran Church

Des Moines, IA


LeBaron Hall Addition (HNSB)

Iowa State University


Lakewood Chapel Restoration

Lakewood Memorial Chapel was originally constructed in 1910. In 1996 BBS was able to work to carefully restore the chapel to its former glory.

Minneapolis, Minnesota


EMC Corporate Highrise

Des Moines, IA


Levitt Center

University of Iowa

© 2024 BBS Architects | engineers, All rights reserved.